

6th International Conference on Standardization and Innovation in Information Technology





September 8-10, 2009 Kogakuin University Shinjuku, Tokyo, Japan.

Host: Kogakuin University, Shinjuku, Tokyo, Japan Sponsor: The IEICE Communications Society (IEICE-CS), Japan

The aim of the conference is to join forces and exchange insights among practitioners and academics across a wide range of disciplines - from engineering and economics to policy management, sociology and law. You are invited to submit original full papers. Theoretical and empirical papers as well as case studies are solicited that shed light on IT standards and standardization, and their relationship to innovation. Possible topics include, but are not limited to:

- Standardization & innovation
- The impact of standards (e.g. on trade)
- Standards policies
- Standards and regulation
- Intellectual property rights and antitrust law
- Industrial property rights management in standardization
- Licensing
- Corporate standards strategies
- Competing regional and international regimes
- Standards setting organizations & their processes
- Standards for developing countries
- Theory of standardization
- Historical and current case studies of standards
- Economics of standards

# **IMPORTANT DATES**

**<u>20 May 2009</u>**-- Paper submission deadline

(extended) **17 July 2009**-- Acceptance notification

21 August 2009--Camera-ready papers

- Standards education; examples of education
- Human resources development on standards and standardization
- Standards cultures: Convergence and harmonization of standard organizations
- Business models of standardization
- Interaction research and standardization
- Implementation and diffusion of standards
- Conformance testing and certification
- Alternative compatibility strategies
- Standards and environmental sustainability (e.g. climate change)

Suggestions for additional topics are most welcome.

# PAPER SUBMISSION

Submissions should be sent in pdf or rtf format to: *siit09-submit@asatani.cc.kogakuin.ac.jp* 

# PAPER REVIEW AND ACCEPTANCE

Original (unpublished) papers not exceeding 6,000 words are solicited. They will undergo a double blind peer- review process. Accepted papers will be included in the conference USB stick.

# COMMITTEES

## **GENERAL CO-CHAIRS**

Koichi Asatani, Kogakuin University, Japan Fumito Kubota, Telecom Engineering Center/NICT, Japan

## **PROGRAM COMMITTEE**

#### CHAIRS:

Toshio Morioka, NTT, Japan Ken Krechmer, University of Colorado, USA Kai Jakobs, RWTH Aachen University, Germany

David Allen, Harvard University, USA Paolo Bellavista, University of Bologna, Italy Knut Blind, TU Berlin, Germany Francoise Bousquet, ZFIB, France Peter Buxmann, Darmstadt University, Germany Takafumi Chujo, Fujitsu Laboratories, Japan Carol Davids, Illinois Institute of Technology, USA Tineke Egyedi, Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands Hosein Fallah, SIT, USA Vladislav Fomin, Vytautas Magnus University, Lithuania Linda Garcia. Georgetown University. USA Mark Gavnor, Boston University, USA Yukio Hiramatsu, Osaka Institute of Technology, Japan Kazuhiko Honjo, University of Electro-Comm., Japan John Hudson, University of Bath, UK Yuji Inoue, TTC, Japan Eric Iversen, NIFU STEP, Norway Hai Jin, Huazhong University, China Naohisa Komatsu, Waseda University, Japan Shiroh Kurihara, Hitotsubashi University, Japan Toshiaki Kurokawa, CSK HD, Japan Mingzhi Li, Tsinghua University, China Eric Monteiro, NSTU, Norway Hajime Nakamura, KDDI Lab., Japan Hiroshi Nakamura, NTT DoCoMo, Japan Don Purcell, Catholic University of America, USA Roy Rada, University of Maryland, USA Kai Reimers, RWTH Aachen University, Germany

Kohei Satoh, ARIB, Japan Mostafa H. Sherif, AT&T, USA Michael Spring, University of Pittsburgh, USA Tarik Taleb, Tohoku University, Japan Klaus Turowski, University of Augsburg, Germany Toshinori Tsuboi, Tokyo University of Technology, Japan Hiromi Ueda, Tokyo University of Technology, Japan Mehmet Ulema, Manhattan College, USA Henk de Vries, Erasmus University Rotterdam, the Netherlands Willem Wakker, ACE, the Netherlands Marc van Wegberg, University of Maastricht, the Netherlands Jürgen Wehnert, Urbane Resourcen, Germany Joel West, San Jose State University, USA Susumu Yoneda, SoftBank Telecom, Japan

#### **INT. ORGANISING COMMITTEE**

Tineke Egyedi, Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands Kai Jakobs, RWTH Aachen University, Germany Ken Krechmer, ICSR, USA Tim Schoechle, ICSR, USA Mostafa Hashem Sherif, AT&T, USA

## LOCAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

#### **CHAIR:**

Aki Kobayashi, Kogakuin University, Japan

Masugi Inoue, NICT, Japan Kenichiro Miwa, NICT, Japan Naohide Nagatsu, NTT, Japan Takuya Ohara, NTT, Japan Hajime Nakamura, KDDI R&D Laboratories, Japan Yukiko Nishimura, The University of Tokyo, Japan Yoshito Sakurai, Hitachi, Japan Hiromi Ueda, Tokyo University of Technology, Japan Hideaki Yamada, KDDI R&D Laboratories, Japan Susumu Yoneda, SoftBank Telecom, Japan

#### **INFORMATION ON SIIT**

SIIT conferences are held every two years. They aim at bringing together standards and standardization experts from different fields – academics, policy makers, standards developers, organizations' standards leaders, and users (administrations, companies, end users) – those who are interested in a multi-disciplinary exchange of insights and views on standards and standardization.

#### **Previous SIIT conferences**

- 1999, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
- 2001, University of Colorado / International Center for Standards Research, USA
- 2003, Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands
- 2005, International Telecommunications Union, Geneva, Switzerland
- 2007, University of Calgary, Canada

SIIT 2009 e-mail: *siit09-oc@asatani.cc.kogakuin.ac.jp* Fax: +81-3-3348-3486 Copyright ©2008-2009 by The SIIT2009 Conference. - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED